09.26.2014 — “Hold This Moment” by Hungry Cloud Darkening

Hungry Cloud Darkening

If you only listen to one song today, make it “Hold This Moment” by Hungry Cloud Darkening (2014, from the forthcoming album Glossy Recall).

Hungry Cloud Darkening is an experimental lo-fi dream pop trio from Anacortes, Washington. Although the members come from Arkansas and Missouri, they’ve been in Anacortes for the last six years. This is the same small town where the acclaimed Mount Eerie comes from. In fact, Hungry Cloud Darkening were just on tour supporting Mount Eerie.

In the summer of 2011, Hungry Cloud Darkening released their debut album Dark Cloud At Water. Last autumn, they released two “unreleased songs” including a pretty great cover of the Big Star song “Kangaroo”. It’s probably my favorite Big Star song, and I wrote about it way back in January of 2011.

I highly recommend the Hungry Cloud Darkening cover of “Kangaroo”, which you can listen to here. That song is backed by a really nice original song called Occupied. While those two songs are well worth the price of admission, it’s not even why we’re here today.

We’re here today because of a great song from the band’s forthcoming album Glossy Recall, which is due out on October 7 via Off Tempo Records.

This is that song:
“Hold This Moment” by Hungry Cloud Darkening

Because of the way the acoustic guitar is strummed and the way Nich Wilbur’s vocals are so hushed and delay-laden, the first 45 seconds of the song remind me a lot of “Dagger” by Slowdive.

Allyson Foster’s voice is really high and really small. For this reason, people are going to use reference points like Luyas and Broadcast, or maybe even Cranes. I wouldn’t really say that Hungry Cloud Darkening sounds very much like any of those bands, but it’s worth mentioning.

When the bass and Foster’s drumming and vocals come in, things change. At that point it reminds me much less of Slowdive and more like something else that I can’t quite place my fingers on. A little like Stereolab, maybe. I guess that bass bit sounds like something that would have been in a Stereolab b-side from 1998.

Whatever it is, I’m completely mesmerized by it.

This morning, I had never heard of Hungry Cloud Darkening, but I got an email a few hours ago promoting the new album, and I became very interested indeed by the promises that their music would remind me of Yo La Tengo and This Mortal Coil.

You can pre-order Glossy Recall on vinyl or compact disc here.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

