11.05.2014 — “Gold” by Roku Music

Roku Music

If you only listen to one song today, make it “Gold” by Roku Music (2014, from the album Collider).

Roku Music is a shoegaze quartet from Brisbane, Australia. They started in 2012 as the duo of Innez Tulloch and Donovan Miller, and by the middle of 2013, they expanded to a quartet by adding Jody Gleeson (bass) and Thomas Roche (drums). They got to work on their debut record last year, and they released it in the spring of 2014 via Brisbane-based Sonic Masala.

I had never heard of Roku Music until about 24 hours ago. While I was working on yesterday’s post, I stumbled upon the intoxicating title track from Collider, and I immediately fell in love. After I listened to that three times in a row, I downloaded the album. I didn’t get to explore it until much later in the day, and as much as I love the title track, today’s song really knocked me out.

It’s pretty obvious that this band draws a ton of influence from the likes of My Bloody Valentine, Fleeting Joys, and others cut from a similar cloth. I doubt that they set out to make a record that sounds exactly like Loveless, but they’ve made one that will definitely appeal to Loveless lovers.

Anyway, here’s today’s song:

“Gold” by Roku Music

It’s completely full of shoegaze-y goodness. All of the delay and pitch shifting. The heavy wall of sound. It’s all there. It’s nearly impossible to discern any of the lyrics, but there are lyrics. Everything about it is concurrently familiar and new.

I listened to this song for the first time as I was driving late at night last night. The song makes a tonal shift at 2:59. From bright and warm to cold and dark. With that shift that probably has something to do with major chords and minor chords, there’s also a bit where the drums get a little busier . I was really enjoying that bit until I absolutely had my mind blown during a flourish from 3:23 to 3:49. There’s a ridiculous drum bit that’s really heavy and almost chaotic. During that section, it’s almost like that thing that sometimes happens when you have two different songs playing simultaneously, and you discover that they bleed together brilliantly.

I suggest listening to this song, and especially that section of the song while driving at night. Play it loud. Play it really loud.

The album was released on compact disc and vinyl, along with a limited edition deluxe vinyl + tour poster + tee-shirt bundle. Sadly, all physical formats have sold out. Fortunately, you can get a digital copy by naming your own price at the Sonic Masala bandcamp store. You should do that right now.

Remember to play it loud and play it often.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

