11.26.2014 — “Beautiful Kingdom” by Dreamcoat

Dreamcoat

Dreamcoat

If you only listen to one song today, make it “Beautiful Kingdom” by Dreamcoat (2014, from the “Beautiful Kingdom” standalone single”).

Dreamcoat is an indie rock/folk quartet from Melbourne. They released this single back in September via Blank Tape Records, and they’re set to start recording their debut EP sometime early in the new year.

I know nothing about this band, but I got something in the mail bag promising that Dreamcoat’s style has “elements of shoegaze, folk, post-rock, and indie-pop”. I love those genres, so I was naturally quite intrigued by that.

I wouldn’t say that this song has any elements of shoegaze or post-rock, but I’m not disappointed in any way. I like it a lot. I’m not the first and I won’t be the last to say that this song is really really reminiscent of Grizzly Bear. Part of it is that Dreamcoat vocalist Kieran Ebert sings a lot like Grizzly Bear’s Ed Droste. Part of it is the drumming. Part of it is the guitar work. It’s the whole thing. It’s a lot like Grizzly Bear. In case you missed it, Shields was my second favorite album of 2012, so being compared to Grizzly Bear is a very good thing.

This is that song.
“Beautiful Kingdom” by Dreamcoat

There’s actually a couple of bits where Ebert reminds me of Jeff Buckley. At the end of each vocal line when there’s a little drum fill, and everything gets a little louder. Reminds me of Buckley in the chorus of “So Real”.

I liked the song right away, and apart from the things I’ve already mentioned, I was drawn to the line in the chorus. I can’t make the whole thing out but I get

I flew to the moon just to drown in your (??)

I have no idea what that last word is, but it’s a cool line anyway. Hopelessly romantic.

This is another one of those songs that I like more and more after repeated back-to-back listens. It’s gonna stick with me for a little while. I hope the rest of the forthcoming EP is this good.

If you happen to live in the Melbourne area, Dreamcoat will be playing a single release party this Sunday night at The Gasometer. That’s ten thousand miles from me, so it’s extremely unlikely that I’ll be there.

For extra credit, here’s the video:

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

