12.21.2014 — “Cut Me Out” by Trust Fund

Ellis Jones (Trust Fund)

If you only listen to one song today, make it “Cut Me Out” by Trust Fund (2015, from the forthcoming album No One’s Coming For Us).

Trust Fund is an indie rock band from Bristol. It’s pretty much the project of Ellis Jones, with a constantly rotating cast of band members. The band has recently played shows as the support for Los Campesinos! and in January, they’ll have a gig as the support for the amazing Joanna Gruesome. He/they released an EP called Don’t Let Them Begin in October of 2013, and a the debut album will be released on February 9, 2015 via Turnstile Music. Following the release of the album, they’ll headline their own tour through the UK.

I haven’t written anything in a while. In part because I’ve been busy with other things, and in part because I’ve been busy getting my year-end list in order. I should have that ready to post before December 31. Also, while I haven’t been writing, my emails have been piling up. As I was trying to tidy that business up this morning, I found an email about this song and the accompanying video. There was nothing in the email that described Trust Fund’s sound, but I was intrigued by the pedigree of bands that Trust Fund has played with and is slated to play with. I was also intrigued by the way they described the video as “dog-filled”.

Here’s the video:

As far as the video goes, it’s just pure fun. A bunch of dogs, and a bunch of happy people having fun with the dogs.

For the first 30 seconds or so, I’m reminded a bit of the late Elliott Smith. Partly because of Jones’ falsetto, and partly because of the music. It’s worth mentioning that this has an unusual structure. Not the typical verse-chorus-verse. Instead, it presents the hook right out of the gate. I like that.

In the first “chorus-verse”, it’s all folky and gentle. The bridge gets all grungy before leading into a second “chorus-verse” that’s more like a Pixies-esque indie rock sound. So many different textures, sounds, and flavors juxtaposed against each other. It’s not weird, though. Somehow, all those colliding and contrasting styles work together.

If you don’t want to or can’t play the video, or if you don’t like dogs, you can listen to the song without the moving pictures

You can pre-order the album here and get an instant download of “Cut Me Out”.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

