01.13.2015 — “So Long” by Anomie

Rachel Browne of Anomie

If you only listen to one song today, make it “So Long” by Anomie (2015, from the forthcoming Anomie EP).

Anomie is the latest band/recording project of Philadelphia-based multi-instrumentalist and indie pop chanteuse Rachel Browne. You may recall that she is part of the fantastic band Field Mouse, whose 2014 album Hold Still Life somehow managed to show up on, then disappear from my radar. I got excited about that band in early 2013 with the promise of a forthcoming album, but I guess I completely forgot about it when their album quietly came out in the summer of 2014.

I’ve actually written about Field Mouse twice. Once way back in November of 2012 when I wrote about their cover of the Julee Cruise song/Twin Peaks theme song “Falling”. The second time was in February of 2013, when I wrote about their song “Tomorrow is Yesterday”. That song did make it onto the 2014 album, but like I said, I completely forgot about it.

In those posts, I said that Field Mouse reminded me of lots of different things, but all of them came from the 1990s: Butterglory, Pavement, and even Slowdive. It’s pretty clear what kinds of influences Rachel Browne has. This time, I’m reminded of something else, also from the late 1980s/early 1990s. The Blake Babies. While I’m not wild about the stuff that Juliana Hatfield is putting out these days, I still love the Blake Babies, and I still love Juliana’s first couple of “solo” records. Today’s song reminds me of all of that stuff.

This is that song:
“So Long” by Anomie

In 2014, Anomie released a couple of singles, and they’re both good, but neither one sounds very much like this. Which makes me have absolutely no idea what to expect from the forthcoming EP. I expect that it’ll be great, and I should expect to be reminded of the early 1990s, but I shouldn’t necessarily expect four songs that sound approximately the same. I do know, however, that the songs were written quickly in a state of heartache and sorrow. Straight from the heart, without much filter. I really like those kinds of things. I love the purity of that kind of songwriting.

The EP will come out on February 10 via Father/Daughter Records, and you can pre-order it from the label’s bandcamp page here.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

