01.18.2015 — “Scene Sick” by Diet Cig

Diet Cig

If you only listen to one song tonight, make it “Scene Sick” by Diet Cig (2015, from the forthcoming EP Over Easy).

Diet Cig is an indie pop/twee duo from New Paltz, New York. That’s a small town of 14 thousand people situated about 80 miles north of the city and about 100 miles west of Hartford, Connecticut. There’s a branch of SUNY there, where the criminally underrated actor John Turturro earned his undergraduate degree. The town’s most famous person, though, was two-time heavyweight boxing champion of the world Floyd Patterson. He was born in a microscopic town in western North Carolina, but grew up in New Paltz, retired there, and died there in 2005.

I don’t know anything about this band other than that their debut EP is set to be released on February 24 via Father/Daughter Records. I learned about them the other day when I was writing that post about their labelmates Anomie.

If you like the first two Camera Obscura records, you should love this band. Or at least you should love this song. That’s exactly what they remind me of. And that’s awesome. If you knew me back in 2004, you know that if you got me talking about music, I wouldn’t shut up about Camera Obscura.

The forthcoming EP contains five songs, which Stereogum has called “stone cold classics” and a “heart-stopping debut”. Read the whole review here.

“Scene Sick” isn’t FCC friendly, but the kids in college radio stations are clever enough that they can make a radio edit version, and it’s sure to be a big hit. It’ll definitely be in A rotation around my house. It’s only 1:46 in length, but this just might be the most fully-clothed two minutes of fun that you’ll have in 2015.

This is that song:

“Scene Sick” by Diet Cig

The music sounds like Camera Obscura. The words sound like Camera Obscura. If I didn’t know better, I would think that this is an unreleased track from Underachievers Please Try Harder (2003).

I’m sick of hearing about your band
I don’t wanna hear about who you think I am
I don’t care, I don’t care….
I’m sick of hearing about your scene
I’d rather talk about something more exciting
I don’t care, I don’t care….
I just wanna dance
I just wanna dance
Come on take my hand.
Fuck all your romance
I just wanna dance

Perhaps the kids in Camera Obscura would have said “never mind your romance” instead of “fuck all your romance”, but it still sounds and smells like a really REALLY good Camera Obscura song.

From what I’ve read, there’s plenty more amazing stuff in the five-song EP. I’m certainly looking forward to it very much. This song, and probably the whole EP, will be on infinite repeat as soon as I can get my grubby mitts on it. For now, the soundcloud file will have to do.

It annoys me to report that this won’t be released on vinyl or even on CD. The only physical release of this will be a limited-run pink cassette tape. I really hate this obnoxious cassette revival trend, and although I typically strongly encourage the purchase of physical copies, I can’t do that here. You can pre-order your digital copy of Over Easy from their bandcamp page here.

After the release of the EP, Diet Cig will go on a US tour in March.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

