02.03.2015 — “Marion” by Sea Dweller

Sea Dweller

If you only listen to one song today, make it “Marion” by Sea Dweller (2012, from the album Signs of a Perfect Disaster).

Sea Dweller was a shoegaze/dream pop band from Rome. They were active between 2005 and 2014. During that time, they put out a couple of EPs and a couple of albums, ending with Signs of a Perfect Disaster in April of 2012. Two years later, the band announced that they were done. I didn’t know about them until after all the dust had settled, and I don’t know what’s happened to the band members since the band dissolved.

This is a band whose name I had heard and read a few times over the years, but whose music I had never heard. A few months ago, when I was doing some research on something else, I ended up at the website of a Japanese label Hands and Moment, and again saw Sea Dweller there and I noticed that the label had a few Sea Dweller songs on their Soundcloud channel. So after a long time of “I’ve heard of them, but I’ve never heard them”, I finally got to hear them. And I liked them very much.

Here’s today’s song:
“Marion” by Sea Dweller

The chiming guitars. The reverb. The delay. The coed vocal harmonies. Yes to all of that. The band say that they were influenced by the first wave of UK shoegaze, but if I was going to say that this “sounds like” anything, I’d use American shoegaze bands from the 1990s like The Swirlies and Drop Nineteens as reference points. To be fair, this has more of a dreamy element than either of those ever offered, but it still sounds to me more like something that would have come from this side of the Atlantic.

You can buy the Japanese version of the album (which has four extra tracks taken from their Days to Find a Way EP) via the Hands and Moment web shop here.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

