02.18.2015 — “Long Shadow” by Twin Limb

Twin Limb

If you only listen to one song today, make it “Long Shadow” by Twin Limb (2015, from the standalone single “Long Shadow”).

Twin Limb is a dream-folk trio from Louisville. They formed in 2013 as the duo of Maryliz Bender (vocals, drums) and Lacey Guthrie (vocals, accordion). They were later joined by multi-instrumentalist Kevin Ratterman. He plays guitar, adds additional percussion, and runs a midi/laptop setup. Yesterday, they officially released their standalone single, and there should be a debut album on the way shortly.

The band cites influences such as Sigur Rós, Mazzy Star, Zola Jesus, and Bat For Lashes. I can definitely understand that, and if I had to pick one of those to say that this band “sounds like”, I’d compare them (or this song anyway), to a really stripped down version of Zola Jesus. With a dash of Sylvan Esso, and a dash of Tramp-era Sharon Van Etten thrown in. In other words, I like it quite a bit.

“Long Shadow” was unleashed on soundcloud about a month ago, but it was finally made available for downloading yesterday. I got something in the mail bag about it, and it kind of blew me away.

This is that song:
“Long Shadow” by Twin Limb

Straight out of the gate, there’s something unusual and unsettling about this song. The slowly tumbling, tom-heavy drums and the dark, heavy bit played by the accordion give it a very menacing sound. It gets to the chorus, and things get much brighter right away. At least temporarily. Later, there’s a strings section that brightens it up. At first, I assumed that this was some bit of electronics, but as it turns out, they brought in a friend to play real strings there. I like it even more because of that. The vocal chorus brightens it up, and at the end, it starts soaring. That’s my favorite bit.

Right around 1:50, as the programmed stuff and the guitar and the much lighter accordion part collide with that minimal drum bit and the vocals, it keeps rising and rising, daring to kiss the stratosphere. And I love it. It’s during this bit, with the vocal that keeps going “Over you, Over you” that I’m reminded of Sharon Van Etten’s wonderful 2012 album Tramp. I loved that record (it was my third favorite album of 2012, and I’m a huge SVE fan, but I was incredibly disappointed by her 2014 album Are We There. That’s a different story, though.

Somehow, this “Long Shadow” song is sad and triumphant at the same time. It’s really lovely, and I can’t get enough of it. I only wish that it was longer. 2:36 simply isn’t long enough.

You can download the self-released single via the Twin Limb bandcamp page.

Also, for extra credit, check out the video:

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

2 responses to “02.18.2015 — “Long Shadow” by Twin Limb

Leave a Reply

