03.06.2015 — “Another Crestfallen Sunday” by Spirit System

Spirit System

If you only listen to one song tonight, make it “Another Crestfallen Sunday” by Spirit System (2013, from the Together in The Merciful Dark EP).

Spirit System is a shoegaze/darkwave/psychedelic trio from Winston-Salem, North Carolina. They released a three-song EP in 2013, and are scheduled to release a full-length album later this year.

Although this band’s style is very much in my wheelhouse and although they are based 25 miles away from where I live, I hadn’t heard of them until last September. They were playing a show down in Charlotte with the brilliant shoegazers Lightfoils. It was an early show, and a free show. I think the sun was still out when Lightfoils took the stage. Spirit System played after them, and I really had no idea what to expect and I never did any research either. I was super-impressed by Spirit System’s set, and I’ve been looking forward to the long player for a while now.

I’ve heard a few teasers from the album, and it sounds great. I don’t know any details about it, though. While we wait, there’s always their spellbinding 2013 EP, and the first song from it. This is that song.

“Another Crestfallen Sunday” by Spirit System

Laure Ruroden’s bass is part Peter Hook, part Simon Gallup. Eric Gilstap’s hazy vocals and super-delayed guitars remind me a little bit of Dean Wareham. Somewhere in there, I also get a taste of Beach House, without all the brightness of Beach House. This is familiar and dark and sludgy. It leaves me with the same but also different feeling I get when my personal space is being invaded. As much as I hate my personal space being invaded, I love it when a piece of music gets right up on me. There’s a little bit of panicky excitement from that kind of closeness. That’s exactly what’s going on here.

The album will be out soon. In the meantime, you can download Together in The Merciful Dark by naming your own price at the bandcamp page.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

