03.19.2015 — “Be My Baby”, as covered by Dressmaker

Dressmaker

If you only listen to one song today, make it “Be My Baby”, as covered by Dressmaker (2015, from the “Love Me” single).

Dressmaker is a post-punk/noise pop quartet from London. They released an EP called Glass last June, and they’ve followed it up with a new single “Love Me”, which was released just last week. The single features a b-side cover of The Ronettes’ 1963 classic “Be My Baby”. Anyone who knows me, and anyone who has read these pages before knows that I have a big soft spot in my heart for that song. It features what is probably the most iconic drum part in all of rock music. That drum part, and Phil Spector’s “wall of sound” approach to recording and production have been influences on rock music for more than fifty years. I can’t count the number of songs that I’ve written about which have borrowed that drum bit. You can say that the entire Psychocandy record is homage to “Be My Baby”. At the very least, that drum bit is all over that album.

Critics have written about Dressmaker, saying things like “one of the loudest, noisiest and most intense live bands around” (VICE), and “fuzz that scratches so deep it would make the Jesus & Mary Chain whimper” (NME). It’s the latter of those two that caught my attention. Actually, I had never heard of Dressmaker until I got an email from them yesterday. They noticed my post about Desperate Journalist, which is a band they’ve played with before. They sent along all the info about the new single, which also includes an 11-second song called “Love Will Tear Us Apart”. It’s not a cover of the famous Joy Division song. It’s a song about getting your hair did. Anyway, while I like the “Love Me” song and accompanying video, I was totally caught by the “Be My Baby” cover.

This is that song.
“Be My Baby” as covered by Dressmaker

Yes. It’s fuzzier and louder than the original. Much more intense. Blissfully noisy. They struck gold when they enlisted the help of Nathalia Bruno from the fantastic Leave The Planet for some breathtaking backing vocals. The whole thing is a very nice interpretation on a brilliant song. Although this sounds nothing like Pale Saints, there’s something about it that makes me think of Pale Saints. The pre-In Ribbons stuff where they were a little weirder and a lot noisier. I love In Ribbons, but I also love the older stuff. This cover of “Be My Baby” makes me wish that Pale Saints had done a cover of it as well, with Ian on lead vocals and Meriel on backing.

You can get the “Love Me” single by naming your price at the bandcamp page. You can also go back and get the Glass EP here.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

