04.10.2015 — “Nothing Stays” by Since Always

Since Always

If you only listen to one song today, make it “Nothing Stays” by Since Always (2015, from the album Consequences).

Since Always is an indie rock/shoegaze-ish trio from Houston. They released an EP called Moxie Kid in the spring of 2012, and they released their full-length debut album Consequences this February. I don’t know anything about them, and there isn’t much to be found out about them. I got an email about the new album a couple of weeks after it came out, and I set it off to the side for later. I was reminded about them when the band’s twitter account started following my personal twitter account. I thought I had already written about them, but it turns out that I either never got the ball rolling on that or I couldn’t gather enough information about them.

In their description of themselves, they also apply the tag “post-rock”. I wouldn’t say that. I might very loosely apply a descriptor like “post-hardcore” in the same way that I would very lightly apply that term to the Buffalo trio Lemuria. I thought about Lemuria quite a bit while I was listening to the songs on Consequences.

This is one of my favorites from that album:

“Nothing Stays” by Since Always

While I hesitate to call them post-rock, I’ll admit that there are a couple of spots in this song and throughout the album that make me think of the fantastic post-rock that comes from Texas (EITS, This Will Destroy You). Those brief spots are outweighed by the harder stuff that’s closer to something you might call “hardcore lite”. Also, it’s the general rule that you can’t be post-rock if you’ve got a singer. I really like Laila Mendoza’s voice, and it’s great for what they’re doing, but it’s just not post-rock. At least not in my book. There are some bits in other songs that have hints of dream-pop, and some bits that are shoegaze-y, but I also think it would be unfair to categorize Since Always as either of those.

However you want to categorize them, it’s a good debut record, and you can purchase a digital download via bandcamp here.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

