05.01.2015 — “Sight of You”, as covered by Ride

Ride (in the early-mid 90s)

If you only listen to one cover song today, make it Ride’s cover of the Pale Saints song “Sight of You” (2003, from the Waves collection).

I haven’t written anything in several days. I have been keeping up with all of my listening, but I’ve just been busy with other stuff. So today, just to get something posted, I’m going to go back in time to the early 1990s. One of my favorite bands covering another favorite.

Pale Saints is one of the biggest names in the first wave of shoegaze, and their song “Sight of You” is not only my favorite Pale Saints song, but one of my favorite songs by anybody. I wrote about it, and the three different versions that they recorded here.

When Ride was still making shoegaze records, it was pretty common for Ride and Pale Saints to be together on a big ticket, or even on a small ticket. I was lucky enough to catch a Ride show with Pale Saints as the support. More than 20 years later, that remains one of my favorite shows ever.

At some point, Ride did a cover of the magnificent “Sight of You” and it was released as a limited run bootleg 7″ record. Many years later, it was included in a bunch of BBC sessions compiled into a record called Waves.

Many bands have covered “Sight of You”, and many have failed to impress me. This, though, is fantastic. Without commentary, here’s Ride’s cover of the Pale Saints song “Sight of You”:

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

