05.30.2015 — “Mercy” by Mamiffer

Mamiffer

If you only listen to one song tonight, make it “Mercy” by Mamiffer (2014, from the album Statu Nascendi).

Mamiffer is an ambient/doom/drone/dream pop duo from Seattle. The project started in 2008 as a piano project for multi-instrumentalist Faith Coloccia. She’s got a background in and a passion for metal and post-metal, but this isn’t that at all. Since 2009, her husband Aaron Turner has been in the band. He’s been the only other band member for a while now. He’s perhaps better known as the former frontman of the Los Angeles post-metal band Isis. They released five albums between 2000 and 2009, then disbanded in 2010. In Mamiffer, Turner is doing something closer to atmospheric dream pop, with some moody, cinematic flair suggestive of post-rock. Every photo and every video that I’ve seen suggest that when they perform, he plays while seated in a chair, and she seated on the floor. I dig it.

Mamiffer’s first album was Hirror Enniffer in 2008 (and re-released in 2013), followed by Mare Decendrii in 2012, and Statu Nascendi last year. Don’t ask me what any of those album titles mean. They’ve also done a few collaborations and split albums with various post-metal bands. There’s a new album slated for release this year, but the only detail I know is that “(t)he piano is more present on the upcoming record.”. Read an interview with them here.

I don’t know much of anything about Mamiffer. I only learned of their existence when Hopscotch announced the lineup for this year’s festival. As always, the festival runs Thursday through Saturday following Labor Day. 140 bands. 12 indoor venues and a main outdoor stage, all in downtown Raleigh.

As I always do, I’ve started doing my homework three months in advance of the festival so I can show up fully prepared with a “plan A”, “plan B” and “plan C” itinerary. They haven’t announced the actual schedule, and there are always times when I really wish I could be in two or three places at the same time, but that’s part of the fun of it. What we do know so far is that Mamiffer plays on Thursday night sometime. Hopefully after the Godspeed set on the main stage. That night looks to be my favorite night of the festival.

Tonight’s song is the third of four on Statu Nascendi

“Mercy” by Mamiffer

It starts with a somber, sparse piano bit backed by a tiny bit of static and a very little bit of guitar. Later, Coloccia brings her quiet, soft voice. It’s not until the second half of the song that Turner’s guitars really come in. And it’s something much more like lovesliescrushing than the kind of stuff Turner used to play in his other bands.

I’ll really be looking forward to seeing Mamiffer at Hopscotch, and also to their new album.

You can buy a digital download of Statu Nascendi from bandcamp here. The vinyl pressing has sold out, and I think there’s a cassette release of this, but I strongly encourage you NOT to buy cassettes. Not this cassette. Not any cassette.

Read about all the Hopscotch ticketing options here.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

