06.21.2015 — “Dryve” by Waving

Waving

If you only listen to one song today, make it “Dryve” by Waving (2015, from the album Waving).

Waving is a fuzzy indie pop/dream pop/shoegaze band from Melbourne. I know absolutely nothing about them, and they don’t have any web presence to speak of. They showed up in my soundcloud feed today, and I instantly liked what I heard. I’m reminded a bit of some of the early 1990s UK male-fronted alternative/shoegaze bands like Ride and The Catherine Wheel. You know. Before the “lad culture” and Brit-pop took over. I’m sort of transported back to 1990 as I listen to this new band’s new record.

I say this a lot, but this time when I say “I know nothing about them”, I really mean it. I don’t know how many people are in the band or any of that ordinary biographical information. I only know that their self-titled album came out on Friday and that it’s very good.

So far, I haven’t found a song of theirs that I don’t like, and this is perhaps my favorite:

“Dryve” by Waving

I like the way the fuzzy guitars are sort of muffled and the vocals buried under the wall of sludge. Right around 3:00, there’s a lot of synths. Almost too much. They knew exactly when to pull back on those.
I really like that right around 4:45, there’s a bit of piano underneath the guitar solo. And that guitar solo blends right into a synth solo which takes over for the rest of the song. There’s quite a lot of subtle little things going on, and I really like that.

The drums are not to be overlooked. I really like what he’s doing there. Not a lot of flair, but the fills and the crash hits are really expressive. And the style is part of what reminds me of Ride.

You can download Waving via bandcamp by naming your own price here.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

