06.27.2015 — “Wallow” by Forsaken Autumn

Forsaken Autumn

If you only listen to one song today, make it “Wallow” by Forsaken Autumn (2015, from an unknown release).

Forsaken Autumn is a shoegaze/dreampop/slowgaze quartet from Shanghai. I know almost nothing about them. They formed in 2011, and almost immediately broke up only to reform a year later. The core of the band is guitarist “Britlululu” and vocalist “Ecke”. From what little I know, it sounds like they started working on an EP last year for release sometime this year. Although today’s song has been around in different incarnations for at least two years, it’s on the new EP.

While I wouldn’t say that Forsaken Autumn “sounds like” Slowdive, I’d say that this is definitely for fans of Slowdive. It’s very dreamy and the guitars are lightly fuzzy. Ecke’s vocals float high in the upper atmosphere. For listeners like me, this is a perfect recipe.

Apart from their Facebook page, and the band members’ twitter feeds, I can’t find much about this band. I found out about them today when I was just letting my soundcloud feed play without paying attention to it. This song definitely caught my attention.

“Wallow” by Forsaken Autumm

After the intro, there’s a little drum fill at 0:22, followed by the fuzzy guitars and gossamer vocals at 0:24. That’s when I fell in love with this song.

I hope I can track down this EP, and I hope there’s more to come from this band.

Here’s a video of the song, from a couple of years ago:

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

