07.29.2015 — “Zebra Boy” by Baby Birds Don’t Drink Milk

Baby Birds Don’t Drink Milk

If you only listen to one song today, make it “Zebra Boy” by Baby Birds Don’t Drink Milk (2015, from the EP Kill The Fuzz)

Baby Birds Don’t Drink Milk is an indie pop/dream pop/downtempo shoegaze trio from Brooklyn by way of Kansas. They’ve been around since 2005 but I had never heard of them until this morning when I found a different one of their songs in my soundcloud feed. I don’t know anything about them other than that their newest release is a six-song EP Kill The Fuzz, which was released by Fire Talk Records this April.

If I had to make a comparison, I might say that the new EP reminds me a bit of Grizzly Bear. There are lots of little things that bring to mind other bands like Pavement or Broken Social Scene, but I’m sticking with Grizzly Bear for the big picture comparison. Maybe it’s the miles of delay on the vocals. Maybe it’s the fact that there are lots of shoegazey effects on the guitars without all the volume. It’s all of that and maybe something else.

“Zebra Boy” by Baby Birds Don’t Drink Milk

I love the way that it sounds like it ought to be really noisy, but it’s not.

BBDDM made 20 copies of the vinyl edition of Kill The Fuzz, and that sold out quickly. They also made cassettes and digital downloads. You can get those via bandcamp here.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

