09.01.2015 — “Windwaker” by Grubs

Grubs

If you only listen to one song tonight, make it “Windwaker” by Grubs (2015, from the forthcoming album It Must Be Grubs).

Grubs is an indie-pop trio from Bristol, England. Roxy Brennan (vocals/guitar) and Owen Williams (guitar/vocals) also play in the Welsh noise-pop band Joanna Gruesome, who changed their lineup this year just after releasing their brilliant new record Peanut Butter. Rounding out the band is drummer Jake May, who is not in Joanna Gruesome.

I didn’t know that this side project existed until I got a submission to the mail bag last month, promoting this song and the band’s debut album It Must Be Grubs. The album will be out on September 11 via Reeks of Effort Records and Tuff Enuff Records.

I haven’t heard the rest of the album, but this song definitely reminds me of K Records 1993. It reminds me of Lois and of Rose Melberg’s band Tiger Trap. And maybe even a little bit of Beat Happening. Rose Melberg has been in a lot of bands, and they’re all awesome, but Tiger Trap is my favorite, and they don’t get enough love in the nostalgia press. Heck, they didn’t get enough love in 1993 either, despite my best intentions.

Anyway, that’s what this song reminds me of. Cuddlepunk.

This is that song
“Windwaker” by Grubs

I love the “made in yer bedroom” sound, complete with the tom-heavy drums, and I especially love the vocal tracks. As far as I know, there aren’t any guest vocals. It’s Roxy and Owen on vocals, with Roxy obviously doing most of the work. It sounds like they tracked her at least two, maybe three times, and there’s some crazy layering of those tracks.

To complete the “K Records circa 1993” analogy, this song clocks in at a very tidy 1:50. There’s nothing superfluous, and if anything, it leaves me wishing that the song was at least a minute longer.

The album will come out on September 11, and you can pre-order it here.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

