09.07.2015 — “Superstitious” by Elisa Ambrogio

Elisa Ambrogio

Elisa Ambrogio

If you only listen to one song today, make it “Superstitious” by Elisa Ambrogio (2014, from the album The Immoralist).

Elisa Ambrogio is an indie-pop/experimental singer/songwriter from Holyoke, Massachusetts. I only know a little bit about her:

(1)She used to be in a Hartford, Connecticut-based noise rock band called Magik Markers. I don’t know anything about that band, but they were/are on Drag City. Noise rock? On Drag City Records? I probably like them a lot. .

(2)She’s left-handed. Or at the very least, she plays her guitar left-handed.

(3)The Immoralist was her solo debut

(4)There isn’t much on the interwebs about her

Elisa Ambrogio is on the Hopscotch Music Festival roster, and when I started doing my homework a few months ago, I really liked this song, but I wanted to find out more about her before I wrote something. I haven’t been able to find anything out, but as I said, I really like this song and I’m very much looking forward to seeing her play.

“Superstitious” by Elisa Ambrogio

I like how dreamy and mysterious the song is, especially at the beginning. I like the very subdued drums. Towards the middle of the song, it starts to pick up a little bit of momentum, and way underneath the ethereal guitar loop sound, there’s just a faint hint of some serious noise. A little bit of feedback squall, but it’s quiet. You might not even notice it. Her vocals are nice, too. There’s a loop that’s used as the backing vocal, and then there’s her main vocal, which is her listing off a bunch of common superstitious things. Broken mirrors, the number thirteen, astrology, etc. She’s not worried about any of those things, but when it comes to keeping her lover close at hand, she’ll do whatever it takes.

I don’t see ghosts
I don’t believe in thirteen
I don’t throw the tarot
I don’t follow astrology
But I get superstitious
When i it comes to you and me
I cross my fingers baby
I touch every tree
I block the paths of black cats
To keep you loving me
Coz I get superstitious
When it comes to you and me

I could listen to this all day long.

The festival kicks off this Thursday night, and Elisa Ambrogio will be playing Saturday night at 11:00 in the Fletcher Opera Theater. I think this one is going to fly under a the radar for most people. Over the years, I’ve seen a couple of my favorite Hopscotch sets there (Angel Olsen in 2013, Low in 2013, Alexandra Sauser-Monnig last year), and it looks like I’ll be there a lot this year. Zeena Parkins and Natalie Prass both play there on Friday night, and a couple of other Saturday night options. You can still get tickets for the whole festival or for single days, or for single night “main stage only” shows. Details here.

The official video for “Superstitious” was directed by Naomi Yang of Galaxie 500 and Damon & Naomi fame. Here that is:

You can buy The Immoralist via Drag City here.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

