09.18.2015 — “The Road” by The Big Moon

The Big Moon

If you only listen to one song today, make it “THe Road” by The Big Moon (2015, from a standalone single).

The Big Moon is an indie rock quartet from London. The four young women are sort of being regarded as the “it” band right now, but I don’t know anything about them, and there’s a paucity of available information. I got something in the mail bag the other day, and as I sometimes do, I immediately went out trying to find out as much as I could about them. Unfortunately, I couldn’t find out much. Everything I know about them I learned from the email and this article from NME back in April. From that article, here’s what I can gather: Juliette Jackson (vocals/guitar) started this as a solo project, but she wasn’t very dedicated to it. Just as she was about to give up on the project, she got some inspiration from a show she went to. She met the other three girls, and they immediately had chemistry. A year later, even without any records under their belt, they’re poised to take the UK by storm.

For the purposes of reference, some people say that they sound like Elastica. Remember how brightly and briefly their star shone? That Elastica reference is good and well, but I can’t help but think of Warpaint.

I haven’t been able to figure out if there’s an album in the works, but the band released a single for “Sucker” backed with “Eureka Moment” a few months ago. They followed that with a standalone single for “The Road” this month. It hasn’t been released in physical form yet, but you can get it from eMusic or iTunes. This is that song.

“The Road” by The Big Moon

I really like the song, but what really does it for me is the video. The email described the video as “the anti-party video for their anti-party anthem”. If I’m honest, that line reeled me in even before I listened to the song or got a look at the girls. Birthday cake, balloons, a goldfish, some bored girls, and a bunch of prison visitation booths.

Apparently, the girls helped with the design and construction of all those booths, which makes it a little cooler. Even though they did their best to look bored (because that’s the point, isn’t it?), I’m sure they had a lot of fun making this video. I know I’ve watched it like four times in a row just now. I don’t know what it is, but I can’t stop watching.

The girls are about to go on a huge tour of the UK. Right in the middle of that tour, they have one US date scheduled. A show on October 15 during the CMJ Festival in New York.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

