09.28.2015 — “Tattoo” by Missa

Missa

If you only listen to one song today, make it “Tattoo” by Missa (2015, from the forthcoming EP Genisis).

Missa is a dream pop recording project from Stockholm. I’m presuming that it’s primarily the work of one woman. The only thing I know about this project is that she/they have been signed to Delicious Demon Records, which is the Stockholm label founded by the girls from Taxi Taxi. The only other band on that label is the Stockholm dreamgaze trio Swap Babies. That Swap Babies EP is likely to be under a lot of people’s radars, but it’s one of my favorite EPs of the year.

I learned about Missa last night because Twitter suggested that I follow them, based on the fact that I follow Nonta (from yesterday’s song of the day). Often, these “you should follow x because you follow y” suggestions bear rotten fruit, but this was a good one. As soon as I saw the connection to Taxi Taxi, and even before I listened, I was convinced that this is for me.

I’m reminded quite a bit of the glorious, but short-lived boutique label Bedazzled Records. They operated in DC in the 1990s and focused on stuff that sat squarely between goth and dream pop. I’m especially reminded of Siddal.

“Tattoo” by Missa

There isn’t anything about this on the Delicious Demon “website”, so there isn’t a pre-order or anything like that, but the EP is scheduled for release on Thursday. Check the Missa tumblr here for details on October 1.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

