10.06.2015 — “Narcissus” by Sirmo Stad

sirmo stad

If you only listen to one song today, make it “Narcissus” by Sirmo Stad (2015, from the Trivial EP).

Sirmo Stad is an emo/post-rock/shoegaze-y trio from Kyoto. I don’t know anything about them, and I can’t even remember exactly how I learned about them, but it started with a recommendation from Twitter that I follow some other Japanese shoegaze band.

In my research, everything that I’ve found about this band is written in Japanese. The band’s twitter and their tumblr are also mostly in Japanese. the best I can do is that there’s something in their bio about Mew and Sigur Ros. While I’m not sure exactly what the frame of that reference is, it’s pretty safe to assume that those are influences.

In 2014, Sirmo Stad made a split EP with Japanese emo band inthenaMEoflove. They have one previous EP called Call, but I don’t know anything about it. I’ve only heard tonight’s song and one other. The guy (yes, it’s a guy) sings in Japanese, so there’s no way for me to know what’s going on in this band.

“Narcissus” by Sirmo Stad

Here, you can see the band performing the song live. With a lot of that stereotypical Japanese staidness:

Sometimes they have an artist on stage with them, create a free-form drawing/visual interpretation on a big canvas. You can see one of those in this video.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

