10.16.2015 — “Here and Elsewhere” by Diverting Duo

Diverting Duo

If you only listen to one song today, make it “Here and Elsewhere” by Diverting Duo (2015, from the forthcoming album Desire).

Diverting Duo is an etherial dreamwave duo from Cagliari, on the Italian island of Sardinia. The duo of Sara Cappai (vocals/synths) and Gianmarco Cireddu (guitar/synths) got started at some point in the late 2000s and their first album lover/lover came out in September of 2009. Since then, they’ve released one more album, a couple of EPs, and a couple of singles. They have a new album called Desire coming out on October 27, which is being co-released by Etch Wear Records (Norway) and DeAmbula Records (Italy).

Their bio says that they’re in the same vein as Dead Can Dance and Cocteau Twins. Frankly, I don’t hear that. I think they’re very much in the vein of Beach House (who just released ANOTHER new album today).

I hadn’t heard of Diverting Duo until a couple of months ago when I started getting stuff in the mail bag about them and this new album. I haven’t heard the entire album yet, but based on this song and the other, older stuff that I sought out, I’m going to like this quite a bit.

“Here and Elsewhere” by Diverting Duo

I wish there was a little bit more guitar and I wish they had a live drummer, but I still like this song a lot, and I’m very much looking forward to hearing the full album. Neither of the labels have pre-orders. I’m guessing that it’ll be available as a download via the Diverting Duo bandcamp page.

Here you can enjoy the video:

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

