11.01.2015 — “Like Dreaming” by Brilliant Beast

Brilliant Beast

If you only listen to one song tonight, make it “Like Dreaming” by Brilliant Beast (2015, from the forthcoming album Dissolve).

Brilliant Beast is a fuzz-pop/shoegaze quartet from Minneapolis. The band, which has been around since about 2011, is co-fronted by the siblings Hannah Porter (vocals/guitar) and Jordan Porter (vocals/guitar). In 2013, they released an EP called Where Do You Want, which was well-received by fans and critics. Their debut album Dissolve will be out on November 6. Both records were recorded and mixed by Neil Weir at the legendary Old Blackberry Way studio. Although that studio is under different ownership and a different crew, this is the same place that The Replacements made their unanimously adored 1984 album Let It Be and their 1982 EP Stink. I’ve read that Hüsker Dü recorded some of their early stuff there, but I don’t know which specific records. Those two bands are punk rock royalty, so it’s gotta be pretty cool to have a real connection to both of them. Brilliant Beast certainly has that Minnesota sound, and I might even go so far as to say that they remind me of Hüsker Dü. More so on the songs with Jordan singing, but I don’t think it’s much of a stretch.

This is another band that I found out about by accident when I was researching a different band. Those are always the most fun for me.

I haven’t heard any of the other songs from the forthcoming album, but I sure do like this:

“Like Dreaming” by Brilliant Beast

You can download the song for free here, and enjoy the bee-filled video here:

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

