11.03.2015 — “Skylines” by Living Dead Girl

Living Dead Girl

If you only listen to one song tonight, make it “Skylines” by Living Dead Girl (2015, from the “Skylines” single).

Living Dead Girl is a dark electo-pop/trip hop duo from London. Jessica English (vocals/synths/piano/programming) came from a background in experimental pop music while Jonno Lloyd (guitar/bass/synths/programming/backing vocals) had a background in industrial rock. The two met and bonded over a mutual affinity for electronic pop. They say they’re influenced by Portishead, the films of Tim Burton, and Massive Attack, among other things. The first time I heard tonight’s song, I immediately thought of the first Hooverphonic record.

Jessica English, with her voice soaring high into the night sky, reminds me so much of Liesje Sadonius. Sadonius was the Hooverphonic singer on their marvelous debut A New Stereophonic Sound Spectacular, but left the band because she didn’t want to tour the United States.

As far as I know, the band takes its name from a Rob Zombie song. I’ve never been a fan of any of Rob Zombie’s endeavors, but I can appreciate his impact on the music world.

The band just self-released their debut standalone single two weeks ago, and I like it a lot.

“Skylines” by Living Dead Girl

One of the things that I really like is the faded, muddy bit at the very end. It’s like a bit of the song was from a sixth or seventh generation cassette tape. I also like the sort of abrupt ending.

You can buy the digital single via bandcamp here.

You can also enjoy the video here:

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

