11.08.2015 — “Hey, You’re Mine” by A Sunny Day in Glasgow

A Sunny Day in Glasgow

If you only listen to one song tonight, make it “Hey, You’re Mine” by A Sunny Day in Glasgow (2015, from the forthcoming double EP Planning Weed Like It’s Acid/Life is Loss: Pop Songs 2015).

A Sunny Day in Glasgow is an experimental/electro-shoegaze/dream pop/noise pop sextet who calls Philadelphia their home. The band started there in 2006 and has undergone a few lineup changes since then. Frontman Ben Daniels is currently living in Sydney and is the only constant member. The other five live in New York and Philly. As far as I know, the current lineup has been in place since their 2010 album Autumn Again. It’s worth mentioning that vocalist Jen Goma is also a current member of The Pains of Being Pure at Heart.

The band has released four proper albums and a handful of EPs. I first wrote about them way back in the summer of 2012. Later, I named their album Sea When Absent my 21st favorite album of 2014. Weirdly, I didn’t even know about the forthcoming double EP until I saw this appear in my Soundcloud feed.

As always, there’s something that’s just dead sexy about this band’s music. I can’t place a finger on it. The way everything fits together, the thick drums, Goma’s voice, the synthy synths. Everything. I’ve heard two songs from the forthcoming release, and I love them both. I might love this one slightly more.

“Hey, You’re Mine” by A Sunny Day in Glasgow

I really like that this has a slightly orchestral feel. There’s some programmed sounds that sound like a section of violins and violas. That bit kind of bounces around in the stereo field a little bit. Not the kind of bouncing around that messes with your head, but the kind that makes you appreciate a song much more when you hear it through quality headphones.

I also think it’s pretty magical how the bass drum is so far to the front of the mix without distorting. I don’t know anything about the way they recorded or mastered this, but whatever they did there, I love it. It’s not the snare or the tom or any of the cymbals. It’s not “the drums”. It’s specifically the bass drum that I’m loving here. I love it all, and I can’t wait for the rest of it.

The band will be self-releasing the new double EP via the non-existent “ASDG Records” on November 13. The nine-track release will be available as a CD or as a digital download from Friday. You can pre-order via bandcamp here.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

