11.11.2015 — “Certainly Not Pushed” by This Love is Deadly

© Simon Hegenberg of Digital Milk 2012

This Love is Deadly

If you only listen to one song tonight, make it “Certainly Not Pushed” by This Love is Deadly (2015, from the album Want).

This Love is Deadly is a shoegaze trio from Berlin. They formed in 2009 and released their self-titled debut in 2012. Early this year, they released their sophomore album Want via their own Lovesick Records and Bekassine Records.

I really don’t know anything about this band. I stumbled upon their music and I loved the first thing I heard. I was able to find a bio, written in German, and a rough English translation of it. Still, though, I know very little. They draw a lot of influence from Dinosaur Jr, and My Bloody Valentine. That’s no surprise. What’s not often seen in band bios, though is something that caught my attention in theirs: they were “enlivened by … the edgy noise of Throwing Muses”. As a huge Throwing Muses fan, that heightened my interest in this band. I already liked what I heard, but it just makes me smile that their label bio mentions the Muses.

In my research about this band, I’ve watched a couple of videos of the band performing in studios and on stage and things like that. With their noise and the makeup of the band, and with the way Lisa (bass/vocals) looks, it’s only fair to say that I’m reminded a tiny bit of the Austin shoegaze trio Ringo Deathstarr.

I’ve only listened to two songs from the new album, and they’re both fantastic. The other song I’ve heard is a bit more dreamy. This is the one, though. This is that song.

“Certainly Not Pushed” by This Love is Deadly

From the drop, there’s beautiful noise. The drummer isn’t hitting the cymbals very much in the first half of the song, and that takes us back to Throwing Muses. When the Muses first started, Dave Narcizo didn’t even have any cymbals. And for a long time, he barely used them at all.

Around 2:12, there’s a long bit with the tape from the guitar track running backwards, giving it that warped, sound not unlike something MBV would do. I’m especially reminded of the MBV song “Glider”. Or more recently, that same effect on their song “Who Sees You”. That backwards tape bit goes on for quite a while, while the vocal track is running forwards, making it even stranger. Lisa’s vocals are quite nice, but they’re hushed, and they’re also buried in the mix.

While this is going on, everything gets a bit quiet, but around 3:35, I love it when everything gets really big and really noisy again. And then, a full stop. As much as I love album cohesiveness and one song bleeding into the next, I also really like it when a song comes to a full, and sometimes abrupt stop. And to be perfectly clear about this, this is the first song on the album. Side A, track 1.

I know it seems impossible, but Want isn’t available as a digital download. If you want the album, you can and should buy the vinyl here. If you live in the United States, the total including shipping comes to $22.62 USD. Purchase of the LP includes a download, but it looks like there’s no way to buy a download. Not Bandcamp, not eMu, not Amazon, not iTunes. Just buy the vinyl and enjoy.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

