11.21.2015 — “My Friend The Scientist” by Dråpe

Dråpe

If you only listen to one song today, make it “My Friend The Scientist” by Dråpe (2015, from the album Relax/Relapse)

Dråpe is an indie pop/dream pop/shoegaze quintet from Oslo. You can pronounce their name “Draw-peh”, and it translates to English as “drop”. I’ve written about this band a couple of times before, and I called their 2013 album Canicular Days my thirteenth favorite album of 2013.

Their sophomore album came out on October 9 via the wonderful Norwegian label Riot Factory.

This time around, it’s a little less gazey and a little more neo-psychedelic. In a lot of spots, I’m reminded of Broadcast, and bands of that ilk. For a while, they had a female singer in Hanne Olsen Solem, but she’s no longer with the band. Ketil Myhre sings and plays guitar, and he sings with a bit of a high voice, bordering on falsetto. It’s a big part of what makes this band so appealing to me.

“My Friend The Scientist”

There’s something about the drumming that also makes me think of St. Etienne. Overall, it’s very European, and very retro-psychedelic. It’s like something that should be in a modern-day French spy film set in 1979.

Separate from that, they made a pretty cool video for the song, using vintage footage (probably from the early 1950s) of US Air Force pilots training for space flight. Here that is:

You can buy Relax/Relapse via Bandcamp here.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

