12.14.2015 — “Seagull” by Living Hour

Living Hour

If you only listen to one song today, make it “Seagull” by Living Hour (2016, from the forthcoming album Living Hour).

Living Hour is a dream pop quintet from Winnipeg. They got together and started writing songs that were inspired by the frost-bitten Canadian prairies and the expansive Manitoban sky. In April of this year, they released a very limited edition self-titled cassette album via the Indiana label Tree Machine Records. That album will get a proper release on February 19, 2016 via Lefse Records.

I don’t know anything else about this band, but I got something in the mailbag about this, and it’s been getting a lot of press elsewhere. I immediately loved this song, and everything else I’ve heard from them. This song is certainly very heavy on the dreamgaze vibe, while other songs have just a hint of country twang mixed in. And that’s fine, too.

Living Hour doesn’t sound like Beach House, but fans of Beach House should love this band. Based on what I’ve heard it’s going to be in heavy rotation around here and should be an early favorite for 2016.

Wait. Am I already talking about my 2016 year-end list? Yes. Believe it or not, I’ve already started my work on that.

Anyway, this is a great song from a band on the rise:
“Seagull” by Living Hour

They don’t have any pre-order stuff yet, but they have announced a tour of the Canadian and American prairies, the desert, and the Pacific Northwest in the spring of 2016. Check here for details.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

