January 2, 2016 — “You Look Like a Sad Painting on Both Sides of The Sky” by MONEY

MONEY

If you only listen to one song today, make it “You Look Like a Sad Painting on Both Sides of The Sky” by MONEY(2016, from the forthcoming album Suicide Songs).
MONEY is an indie rock trio from Manchester. I guess they remind me a bit of Grizzly Bear with a dash of Marty Willson-Piper’s solo stuff. The band got started in 2011, and they were immediately selling out shows before they had even released a single. Simon Raymonde caught notice of them and quickly snapped the band up on Bella Union. Raymonde founded that label in 1997 with his Cocteau Twins collaborator Robin Guthrie, but Raymonde has had complete control of the label since 2000. The debut album The Shadow of Heaven came out in 2013, and the sophomore album Suicide Songs is slated for release on January 29.

I didn’t know about the first album, and I only recently learned about the band. They released a “Christmas” song called “A Cocaine Christmas and An Alcoholic’s New Year”, which will also be on the forthcoming album. That song piqued my interest a little bit, but this one got me a little more interested. I’m not even sure what it is that I like so much. But I do like it a lot.

There’s not much going on, but everything goes big on this. The acoustic guitar and the vocals are both gigantic. The whole thing is deeply sad, and there’s a lot of beauty in that. I’ve heard three songs from the album, and I like them all, but I’m getting that same deeply sad vibe from them. I guess that should come as no surprise from an album entitled Suicide Songs. I do like it, but maybe it’s not the kind of record I could listen to all the time.

You can pre-order Suicide Songs here.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

