January 7, 2016 — “You Are Killing Me” by The Dandy Warhols

The Dandy Warhols

If you only listen to one song tonight, make it “You Are Killing Me” by The Dandy Warhols (2016, from a forthcoming release)
The Dandy Warhols are an indie/psychedelic rock band from Portland, Oregon. They’ve been making records since 1994, and they’re well-known for their songs “Not If You Were The Last Junkie On Earth”(1997, from the album The Dandy Warhols Come Down), “Bohemian Like You” (2000, from the album Thirteen Tales From Urban Bohemia), and “We Used To Be Friends” (2003, from the album Welcome to The Monkey House). All of those songs, by the way, have magnificent videos.
They’re also known for their love/hate relationship with The Brian Jonestown Massacre and for their sometimes intense live performances.

I loved albums two, three, and four in their catalog, but by the time 2005’s Odditorium, Or Warlords of Mars came out, I started to lose interest in them. I had also got it in my head that frontman Courtney Taylor-Taylor was a bit full of himself. Maybe he is, but I don’t really know. Part of my reason for thinking that was that he added the second “Taylor” to his surname. I thought it was ridiculous, but he has said that part of it came from the fact that he was proud of the fact that his parents were still married. Another part of it stemmed from the fact that he knew a woman who married a man with the same surname as her, and they decided to hyphenate. As a tribute to his parents and to his friends, he decided to add the second “Taylor” to his name. As far as I know, his legal name is still Courtney Taylor.

As I said, I loved those early albums and didn’t love albums five and six. I didn’t pay any attention to albums seven and eight. I had, for all intents and purposes, given up on the Dandys.

Today, I got something in the mailbag about the band’s new single, which comes out tomorrow. They haven’t announced an album yet, but we know that they spent much of 2015 writing new material, and we also know that they recently signed to Dine Alone Records. With some trepidation, I clicked “play”, and I ended up loving the new song.

It’s not trying to be weird or anything like that. It’s not even doing anything extraordinary. It’s just a good pop song that, for some strange reason, reminds me of The Magnetic Fields. It doesn’t sound anything at all like anything that the Magnetic Fields, but it does sound like something that Stephin Merritt could have written.

I suspect they’ll have a new record out in the spring, but it really is nothing more than speculation at this point.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

