January 16 — “Losing Distance” by Hellens

Hellens

If you only listen to one song today, make it “Losing Distance” by Hellens(2015, from the “Losing Distance/Spacelight” single).

Hellens is a shoegaze/dream pop sextet from Tangerang, Indonesia. I know absolutely nothing about them. I came across this song in my Soundcloud feed. Since I’m often looking for stuff of this ilk from Asia, I get a lot of stuff in my feed by bands who have little or no footprint in the internet. Sometimes I can piece a few things together, but this isn’t one of those times.

Clearly, they’ve been influenced by Slowdive, and maybe Cranes, but I can’t find anything out about this band. I just really like the two songs that I’ve heard.

“Losing Distance” by Hellens

I love the light and airy feel of it all. Larasati Nugraha’s vocals are just right. A lot of times with shoegaze/dream pop, the female vocals are really high. While I certainly like that kind of thing, I like that her voice is more like a real person than an angel. I honestly can’t tell if she’s singing in English because everything else sort of washes over the vocals, but I still love the sound of those vocals.

The bass isn’t doing very much, but I really like how prominent it is.

There’s a lot that I like about this song, and absolutely nothing that I know about the band. Hopefully, we’ll hear more from them in the future.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

