January 19, 2016 — “

Amber Quintero

Amber Quintero

If you only listen to one song today, make it “I Don’t Wanna Know Her Name” by Amber Quintero (2016).

Amber Quintero is a dream pop singer from Los Angeles. She was one half of the dream pop outfit Boardwalk, whose self-titled debut was my seventh favorite album of 2013.

I really loved that album, and I was looking forward to a bunch more from them. And then nothing happened. I was starting to think that they were one of the many bands who put out one amazing record, then disappear. Just a couple of weeks ago, I was wondering what ever happened to them. To my surprise, I got an unbidden note in the mail bag that sort of answered the question. Unfortunately, the band is currently on hiatus. They haven’t ruled out another record, but it’s not happening right now. The good news is that Amber Quintero has launched an eponymous solo project. So far, there’s just this one song, and it’s a pretty good one.

“I Don’t Wanna Know Her Name” by Amber Quintero

Quintero doesn’t sing like Hope Sandoval, but this makes me think of Mazzy Star, and I like that a lot. The down-tempo aspect, the heavy tambourine, the darkness. This is much dreamier, though, than Mazzy Star. More like a Julee Cruise/Mazzy Star mashup.

Amber says that there’ll be a full-length album at some point, but there isn’t a timetable on that yet. We’re very much looking forward to it.

For now, you should listen to this song a lot. And you should get the Boardwalk album via Bandcamp here.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

