January 30, 2016 — “Distance” by Iris

Iris

If you only listen to one song today, make it “Distance” by Iris (2015, from the “Distance” single).

Iris was an emo/shoegaze quartet from Toronto. They formed in 2013, and they released three EPs and a single. I had never heard of the band until I stumbled upon a different song in my Soundcloud feed the other day. Unfortunately, I found out about them just a little too late. Just a couple of days ago, their guitar player Scott Bostin posted something to their Facebook page indicating that the band is splitting. At the very least, he’s leaving the band, and has indicated that he no longer has “…motivation to push this band any further than it has gone”.

I hope that the rest of the band figures out how to carry on without him. I really like everything that I’ve heard. Especially today’s quiet/LOUD/quiet bruiser.

“Distance” by Iris

Right out of the gate, I have to point out that bassist/vocalist Danielle reminds me a lot of Paula Kelley out of Drop Nineteens. A lot.

I really like the way that the beginning and end are super-slow and extremely down-tempo. The guitar there is reminiscent of Slowdive’s Pygmalion album. At about 1:01, al breaks loose and there’s a lot of fuzz and mainly a lot of volume. All the while, though, Danielle’s vocals keep things on the tender side.

I wish that there would be more to come from this band, but for right now, it looks like they’ve pulled the plug. At least temporarily. Still, though, you should get the “Distance” single and the rest of their catalog via Bandcamp here.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

