May 12, 2016 — “Agoraphobic” by The Cabin Fever

the cabin feverIf you only listen to one song tonight, make it “Agoraphobic” by The Cabin Fever (2016, from the forthcoming album Enjoy Yourself).
The Cabin Fever is a fuzzy indie rock/shoegaze-y trio from Los Angeles. They were formed in 2015 and are set to release their debut album Enjoy Yourself sometime very soon. They’re indicating “late spring”, but nothing else.

They’re a fairly new band, and there’s not much out there about them. All I know is that the band got its start when frontman Sean Moriarty checked himself into a rehab facility. Joel Bedolla (guitar) was a counselor at the facility, and he and Moriarty quickly bonded. They added Tripp Beam (drums) to the mix, and they’ve made a little bit of noise in advance of their first album.

A few months ago, I got some stuff in the mail bag about this band, and specifically about tonight’s song. Between late January and last week, however, I was really busy with work, school, and other things, so a LOT of things blog-wise got pushed to a back burner. I’m still catching up with some emails that I haven’t even read, and trying even harder to work with some of the great things that I’ve received over the last few months.

When I revisited the emails about this, I was completely floored by this song. Moriarty has a vocal style that reminds me a little bit of Courtney Taylor-Taylor out of The Dandy Warhols. The music and everything else reminds me of some stuff from the glorious golden age of fuzzy, guitar-oriented east coast indie rock: 1993. Think about Jawbox’s outstanding For Your Own Special Sweetheart. Think about Archers of Loaf’s magnificent debut album Icky Mettle. It’s albums like those that I’m reminded of when listening to this song.

“Agoraphobic” by The Cabin Fever

I love the tumbling, tom-heavy drums that remind me of David Narcizo out of Throwing Muses. I love the early 90s feel of it. I love Moariarty’s hushed raspy vocals. I love the horns. One of my favorite things, though, is a really little thing. In the middle of the song, there’s a slight instrumental break and there’s a super-fuzzy guitar just chunking out a couple of chord strokes, and it’s only in the left channel. Meanwhile, there’s a different guitar bit that’s only in the right channel. Check it out at around 1:42 until about 2:00. I love stuff like that, and although I was already enjoying the song a lot, it made it so much more enjoyable.

Incidentally, the band just yesterday released their first music video for the song “Paranoia”. It’s another good song with a bit more of that Welcome to The Monkey House-era Dandy Warhols vibe that I was talking about. You can watch that video/hear the song here.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

