May 20, 2016 — “Evan Evan” by Pale Dian

Pale Dian

If you only listen to one song tonight, make it “Evan Evan” by Pale Dian (2016, from the forthcoming album Narrow Birth).

Pale Dian is a dream pop/shoegaze trio from Austin. They’re fronted by Ruth Ellen Smith (vocals/synths/drum machine). She and Derek Kutzer (guitar) used to be in the Austin synth popdream pop outfit Blackstone Rngrs. I don’t know what happened, but that band apparently disbanded, and Pale Dian rose from its ashes.

Like Blackstone Rngrs, Pale Dian is definitely going to appeal to fans of Cocteau Twins, Siouxie and The Banshees, and the like. The tail end of late 1970s UK post-punk/goth and the front end of dream pop. If you’ve got a lot of 4AD records in your collection, this is for you.

I didn’t know that this project had gotten started, but I got something in the mailbag about this song and the forthcoming album. I immediately recognized Smith’s name, and recalled Blackstone Rngrs. Even without listening, I knew that I was going to love this song.

“Evan Evan” by Pale Dian

I love the goth-y/post-punk flavors mixed with the shoegazey dream pop flavors. I like the delay and the other effects on the vocals. But really, I just love the buzz at the end of the song. It all comes to a beautiful, noisy head. And I just want to listen again and again.

Play it loud and play it often.

The album comes out on June 3 via Manifesto Records. You can pre-order a physical copy via Amazon here.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

