August 30, 2016 — “Veronica” by Phoebe’s Guitar

Phoebe’s Guitar

If you only listen to one song tonight, make it “Veronica” by Phoebe’s Guitar.

Phoebe’s Guitar is a shoegaze/dreampop band from the Los Angeles area. The only thing I know about them is that they’re from a small town called Diamond Bar. I think there are three band members, and it looks like they’re just getting this project off the ground. There’s not much about them on the interwebs, and just a few songs on SoundCloud and Bandcamp. Their Facebook page doesn’t give anything away in the biography department. The band name may or may not be a reference to the TV show “Friends”.

The band lists Slowdive, MBV, and Bowery Electric among their influences, and that’s pretty obvious from the sound of this song.

I had never heard of this band until I saw one of their songs in my SoundCloud feed. After a few seconds, I knew that I liked them, and I tried to do some research on them. Unfortunately, I came up empty. There’s a Facebook comment that suggests that there are several songs in the can, but for now, there’s just three wonderfully dreamgazey songs on SoundCloud. Tonight’s song was just uploaded a few days ago.

This is that song:
“Veronica” by Phoebe’s Guitar

This reminds me of a bunch of packing peanuts wrapped in gossamer and sent on an escalator ride. You think it’s gonna float away, but it doesn’t. You think it’s going to reach the top or the bottom, but it doesn’t. You even think that it’s going to eventually get crushed by something big, but it doesn’t. It just keeps churning around. It’s light and dreamy and the loop-y, drone-y element creates a bit of an intoxicating tractor beam. That’s precisely what I always loved about the Bowery Electric song “Beat” (1996, from the album Beat). Like “Beat”, this song is well over seven minutes in length, but it doesn’t even seem like it.

We’ll keep our ears open for more stuff from Phoebe’s Guitar. For now, check out the three songs available on SoundCloud here

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

