January 11, 2017 — “Only Matters When” by UV-TV

UV-TV

UV-TV

If you only listen to one song tonight, make it “Only Matters When” by UV-TV (2017, from the forthcoming album Glass).
UV-TV is a shoegaze/post-punk trio from Gainesville, Florida. I don’t know anything about them, and I only learned about them the other day when I got something in the mailbag. They are Rose Vastola (bass/vocals), Ian Bernacett (guitar/vocals), and Ryan Hopewell. That’s about all they want people to know about them. They say they’re from “somewhere in Florida”, but we assume that their hometown is Gainesville.

The band has been around for a few years, and they recorded a five song lo-fi demo in 2014. A version of tonight’s song is on that demo. The rest of it is closer to post-punk than to shoegaze. They recently recorded 11 songs in an old train station using borrowed microphones and a Tascam reel-to-reel tape machine. Those songs have been described as “burning cuts” with “jagged, abrasive edges”. The email said that the forthcoming debut album is “shoegaze stripped of its fat and its fluff”. Comparisons were made to Black Tambourine and The Jesus & Mary Chain. Speaking of Black Tambourine, tonight’s song actually reminds me quite a bit of their Slumberland (version 1.0) labelmates Henry’s Dress. There’s a mixture of 20% twee-pop and 80% blistering, incendiary shoegaze. Terrific melodies and also heaps and heaps of feedback and buzz. For a more modern comparison, I might go with the terrific Alvvays, or the equally amazing Wildhoney.

I haven’t heard the rest of the album yet, but I sure do love this.
“Only Matters When” by UV-TV

The first 15 seconds sound like a Psychocandy send-up. The rest of it is delicious, bouncy pop-punk played at a breakneck pace. I love that kind of thing, and I’m certain that I’m going to love this record.

The album comes out on March 10 via Deranged Records, which is a Canadian label that I’ve never heard of. You can pre-order it here.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

