January 19, 2017 — “The Flesh” by Has a Shadow

Has a Shadow

Has a Shadow

If you only listen to one song tonight, make it “The Flesh” by Has a Shadow (2017, from the album Sorrow Tomorrow).

Has a Shadow is a goth/post-punk duo from Guadalajara. I don’t know much about the band, but their sophomore album just came out yesterday, and I got something in the mail bag about it. Reviews have often used words like “cacophony” and “post-apocalyptic drone”. Those are things that interest me very much. They’ve been compared to Bauhaus and Sisters of Mercy. They’ve been compared to Kraftwerk. They’ve also been compared to The Jesus and Mary Chain. Again, I’m very much interested in something that’s compared to all of that.

I haven’t listened to the entire album yet, but what I’ve listened to is indeed dark and foggy. The air inside this album is really thick and hard to breathe.

Tonight’s song has some bright synths among all of the darkness. It’s like a really weird mashup of A Place to Bury Strangers and The Dandy Warhols.

This is that song:
“The Flesh” by Has a Shadow

I like the drone. I like the motorik-like beat. I like how amazingly dark it is. I like how noisy it is. This needs to be played really loudly on real speakers. This needs to be played in the darkest rooms.

Sorrow Tomorrow was released yesterday via the London-based Fuzz Club Records. You can order it in your choice of CD or vinyl here. You can buy a download from Amazon here.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

