January 31, 2017 — “I Don’t Feel So Alive” by Gabriella Cohen

Gabriella Cohen

Gabriella Cohen

If you only listen to one song today, make it “I Don’t Feel So Alive” by Gabriella Cohen (2016, from the album Full Closure and No Details).

Gabriella Cohen is a psychedelic/surf-rock/folk musician from Melbourne. She’s in a band called The Furrs, but she released a highly acclaimed solo record called Full Closure and No Details last year via Dot Dash Records. Dot Dash is a label exclusively for Australian artists, and the very good album got limited recognition outside of Australia/New Zealand.

Last week, Captured Tracks announced that they’ve signed Cohen and will be reissuing her album on March 3. They’ve also released a bunch of videos to promote the album. They sent me the announcement and a preview copy of the album, which I’m liking very much.

Most reviews of the album point to The Velvet Underground as a reference point, and I can understand that, but I prefer to say that this reminds me of a slightly quieter, slightly down tempo Best Coast.

It’s said that this album was written and recorded in a matter of ten days, and that it’s about the dissolution of a relationship. It’s melancholic and it’s brooding. It’s dark and gloomy at times. But it’s well-crafted and it’s real. And we really like it.

Today’s song even has a vaguely Mazzy Star feeling to it. Maybe it sounds like Mazzy Star doing an imitation of VU.

This is that song:
“I Don’t Feel So Alive” by Gabriella Cohen

I like how it picks up some steam in the last bit of the song, and that’s where it really does sound like the Velvet Underground.

People point to the

This could be the last time we get together

line and call it “sad” and say that it’s the end of something. I think it’s something different . While the first half of the song is about crying and not putting forth much effort, I think the whole thing might actually be about the exciting beginnings of something. Or at the very least, it could be about throwing fears and caution to the side in favour of one last go. Or one first go.

Did you find out what I’m all about
Or should I tell you
I’m gonna tell you
I’m gonna tell you

This could be the last time we get together

It’s now or never
Let’s get together
Why don’t we get together

That “It’s now or never” line is whispered, so it sort of makes me think that it might even be about doing something with someone with whom there’s never been any intimacy and with whom there can never be any intimacy except on this one night.

Whatever stage of a “relationship” it’s about, I really like this song. And I really like the album.

Here’s the video, complete with a very subtle nod to ABBA:

You can pre-order Full Closure and No Details via Captured Tracks here. In the EU/UK and AUS/NZ, you still order it from Dot Dash.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a Reply

