August 21 — “Yr Last Mistake” by Free Electric State

Free Electric State

With the 2012 Hopscotch Music Festival just around the corner, I thought I should probably take some time to highlight some of the bands that will be playing there. The festival runs from September 6-8 and will feature 175 bands playing in 15 venues throughout downtown Raleigh. About a third of the acts on this year’s lineup are from the Raleigh-Durham-Chapel Hill area.

I’ve already written about some of the bands who will be playing: Azure Ray, Big Troubles, Built to Spill, Exitmusic, Versus, Wye Oak, Yo La Tango, Zeus, Zola Jesus. The big show this year, who I haven’t written about yet, is The Jesus and Mary Chain. I’m most excited about that, but there are loads of bands that I’m also excited to see. Some are new to me, and some have been favorites of mine for many years. Today’s song comes from the former group.

Until I started trying to figure out who I wanted to see at Hopscotch, I’d never heard of Free Electric State. It was a very pleasant discovery, because they’re exactly my kind of thing. So, if you only listen to one song today, make it “Yr Last Mistake” by Free Electric State (2012, from the album Monumental Life).

Free Electric State got started a few years ago in Durham. The husband-and-wife team of David Koslowski (guitar, vocals) and ShirlĂ© Hale (vocals, bass) were regulars at The Pinhook in Durham, where Nick Williams (guitar) was tending bar. Williams is also co-owner of the bar/venue. Hale and Koslowski were in a new wave band called Gerty!, and they wanted to do something “louder”. They recruited Williams and drummer Tony Stiglitz, and about six months later, they recorded their debut album, Caress.

They got together based on their shared love of krautrock and shoegaze and “big, swirling guitar sounds”, but in today’s song, there’s no mistaking the fact that Koslowski and Hale still have those new wave roots. It’s hard not to think of A Flock of Seagulls with that heavily flanged guitar bit and the thick, heavy drums in the first 40 seconds of the song. Obviously, it’s also easy to hear the shoegaze and noise-pop sound. I love it. Here’s the song.

“Yr Last Mistake” by Free Electric Sate

Apart from the aforementioned nod to early 80s new wave, I love how it breaks down at 2:45 for what seems like it might be a really drawn out fade. Of course it kicks back in around 3:20. This isn’t exactly a false ending, but it’s close enough. And ya’ll know how I love a false ending. When it comes back, it’s a little different. Especially after the vocals and drums come back in at 3:36, it’s a fantastic wall of sound.

While Free Electric State is being billed as a Durham band, Hale and Koslowski have moved back to Baltimore. And that gives me an excuse to refresh everyone’s memory about the brilliant Baltimore shoegaze band Thrushes. Take some time to revisit what I wrote about them back in February. And, of course, listen to that amazing song.

Since I’m just discovering Free Electric State, I don’t know much about them. And I only have their newest album, which was released this spring. Based on what little I know, and what I’ve heard, I really like this band, and I’m very much looking forward to seeing them at Hopscotch.

Monumental Life is available in CD or LP format through the Custom Made Music webstore here. Or get a legal digital copy somewhere.

If you’re going to Hopscotch, or if you’re still thinking about going, Free Electric State will be playing the 10:30 to 11:30 slot at Kings Barcade on Thursday night September 6. You can bet your hands that I’ll be there.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

2 responses to “August 21 — “Yr Last Mistake” by Free Electric State

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.