November 1 — “The Horror” by Scarlet Chives

Scarlet Chives

If you only listen to one song tonight, make it “The Horror” by Scarlet Chives (2012, from the album Scarlet Chives)

Scarlet Chives is a dream-pop/shoegaze six piece from Copenhagen, Denmark. They say that they draw their influences from My Bloody Valentine, Cocteau Twins, the Blade Runner soundtrack, and the barrier islands of Denmark. They released their debut self-titled record last year in their homeland, then released it this summer to the rest of the world.

That’s the extent of what I know about this band. They’re on the Norwegian indie label Riot Factory, along with This is That Song alumni Snøskred and Dråpe.
I was wandering around that site again today, looking for something else that I knew was there, but I ended up finding this.

I can spot the Cocteaus influence, for sure, in a Four Calendar Cafe kind of way. A little brighter and more polished than the stuff that I really love. Don’t get me wrong, though. Four Calendar Cafe is still a perfectly fine record.

I like that it gets kinda big and Robin Guthrie-esque before breaking down at 1:19 for a little while. The vocals there are in English, but they’re hard to decipher. Still, Maria Mortensen’s voice is really pretty. Then I love the bit at 1:35, when everything comes back in all at once. Like a hammer. Then, later, there’s a similar break from 2:31 to 2:47, and another hammer. I’ve always been a big fan of that kind of loud/quiet/loud play, and they do it well here.

You can order the physical copy through a couple of Danish sites, or you can take the easy road at Amazon. Get the CD or digital version here.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.