November 25 — “Valley Hump Crash” by No Age

No Age

If you only listen to one song tonight, make it “Valley Hump Crash” by No Age (2010, from the album Everything In Between).

No Age is an experimental noise-pop/indie rock duo from Los Angeles. They formed in 2005 when Randy Randall and Dean Allen Spunt left their other band, Wives. They’ve released three studio albums since 2007. The newest one is their smashing 2010 album Everything In Between, which ended up on a LOT of “Best of 2010” lists. I’ve had that album the whole time, but for some reason, I didn’t cotton to it until recently.

According to everything that I’ve read and heard, No Age is constantly either on the road or playing shows in Los Angeles. All of those same stories suggest that their shows are pretty wild.

I don’t know anything else about this band, so I’ll just go ahead with the song.

“Valley Hump Crash” by No Age

I like how much it sounds like Sonic Youth. I’m not a huge Sonic Youth fan or anything like that, but I still like the obvious nod.

Unfortunately, that’s all I have about this.

You can buy Everything In Between from the Sub Pop Records web store here. Don’t forget that they’re offering 20% off orders of $20 or more. Get some records. Get some tee shirts. Anything adding up to $20 or more. You’ll also almost always get a bundle of stickers, badges and other fun free stuff with your order.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.