03.12.2015 — “Enough (To Know)” by Life Model

Life Model

If you only listen to one song today, make it “Enough (To Know)” by Life Model (2015, from the “Lilt” single).

Life Model is a dream pop/shoegaze quintet from Glasgow. They formed in 2012 and despite the fact that they’ve only released a couple of singles, they’re starting to work their way into conversations about “the best up-and coming shoegaze/dream pop bands”. I don’t know anything about them other than the tiny bit that I’ve learned from their Facebook page, and the songs that I’ve heard on their Soundcloud page.

I learned about them when a song of theirs showed up in my Soundcloud feed. This is that song.

“Enough (To Know)” by Life Model

It’s got a lot of stuff that made me instantly fall in love with it. The bass is pretty clean compared to the really washed out guitars and vocals. It’s airy and smokey and warm. There’s something about this that reminds me of some early Slowdive. A bit like the Just For a Day album. Think, specifically of “Brighter”.

We don’t know what the future holds for Life Model, but we sure hope that they have a full-length album in the works.

As of now, the only way to get today’s song is to buy a limited edition Life Model t-shirt, which comes with the “Lilt” standalone digital single and this exclusive track as a digital b-side.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.