04.02.2015 — “1993” by Dead Mellotron

Dead Mellotron

If you only listen to one song tonight, make it “1993” by Dead Mellotron (2010, from the album s/t).

Dead Mellotron is a lo-fi shoegaze/dream pop trio from Baltimore who formed in the late twenty aughts. They self-released a couple of albums before signing to the London-based label Sonic Cathedral. That Sonic Cathedral should not be confused with the website with a dot com address. That other Sonic Cathedral is a one stop shop for all your female-fronted metal band needs.

I don’t know anything at all about this band and they have a very tiny footprint on the web. I found a different one of their songs in my soundcloud feed the other day and ran into a bunch of dead ends when I tried to do research on them. Today’s song is from their 2010 album which, to my understanding, is actually called s/t. It’s not self-titled. Hey, if The Breeders can get away with calling one of their albums Title TK (which is publisher speak for “Title forthcoming”), then these cats should be able to call what would normally be a self-titled record s/t.

“1993” by Dead Mellotron

I like that this is slightly murky and lo-fi. It sort of enhances the sludge of the bass and the delay and other effects on the guitar. I also like how uncomplicated this song is. It’s noisy and muddy and wonderful.

This is the penultimate song on the album, and its coda bleeds right into the intro to the album-closing “End”. This song doesn’t really get resolved, so when taken out of the context of the full album, the end sounds a bit weird. Trust me, though. When you listen to the whole album, it doesn’t have an awkward transition.

You can download the s/t album from bandcamp by naming your price here.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.