April 27, 2016 — “Why Are You Still Here?” by Panda Panda

Panda Panda

Panda Panda

If you only listen to one song tonight, make it “Why Are You Still Here?” by Panda Panda (2016, from the Millions EP).

Panda Panda is an indie/noise rock quintet from Trondheim, Norway. I don’t know anything about them, but I do know that they’re on the wonderful little label Riot Factory, which is based in their hometown. There’s only about two dozen bands associated with that label, but I’ve written about a bunch of those, and I’ve really liked almost everything that I’ve heard from that label.

I got something in the mail bag a couple of weeks ago about the band’s debut EP, which just came out on April 15. Naturally, I was interested in them simply because of their label affiliation, and I loved tonight’s song right from the drop. They’ve been generating a lot of buzz in Norway, and it’s easy for me to understand why.

I’m reminded a bit of Wye Oak, and a bit of The Most Serene Republic.

“Why Are You Still Here?” by Panda Panda

Ragnhild Fangel Jamtveit (vocals/synths) reminds me a bit of Jenn Wasner out of Wye Oak in her singing style. I may not be able to pronounce her name (or any of the band member’s names for that matter), but I like what she’s doing there. During the choruses, things slow down quite a bit, and there’s some coed vocal harmonies. Throughout the song there are lots of bits where there’s a bunch of overlapping things that make it sound a bit like chaos. It’s not a mess, it’s just really busy, and there are lots of different textures. All of those things remind me a bit of the first couple of records by The Most Serene Republic, and in particular, their song The Men Who Live Upstairs.

I like everything about this song, but I especially like the really noisy bit at the end.

You can grab a download of Millions via Bandcamp here. The default currency unit is Euros, and the €5 price converts to something like $5.66 USD.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.