July 15, 2016 — “Drive” by Magic Mountain

Magic Mountain

If you only listen to one song tonight, make it “Drive” by Magic Mountain (2015, from the Innocence EP).

Magic Mountain is a coldwave/synth pop/shoegaze trio from Nottingham, England. I really don’t know anything about them. They started following me on Twitter, I checked them out, and I like what I hear.

Magic Mountain have been around since something like 2009. Founding members Ash Smart (guitars) and James Percy (vocals/bass) used to be in a band called This Dumb Desire. That band split, and this band rose from its ashes. Later, they added Sarah Smart (keys/flute/vocals). They say that they sound like a mixture of pre-Loveless My Bloody Valentine, Joy Division, and David Bowie. Frankly, I don’t hear any of that in this EP. What I hear is something that reminds me of Violator-era Depeche Mode. And there’s nothing wrong with that, because that’s an amazing record. It might simply be that Percy’s voice is a bit like that of Dave Gahan out of Depeche Mode, but that’s the comparison that I’m making.

Either way, this is that song:

“Drive” by Magic Mountain

The EP came out digitally in December of last year, and it’s my understanding that it just recently became available in physical format. You can buy it in digital or compact disc format for the same price via Bandcamp here.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.