September 4 — “Wrong Time Capsule” by Deerhoof

Deerhoof

Today is a huge day for new releases. New albums by Cat Power, Mono (Japan), Bob Mould, Deerhoof, Stars, and many, many more. Plus, it’s the 20th anniversary of the release of the extraordinary Copper Blue by Sugar. A lot more on that in a special post later today.

Deerhoof’s new record Breakup Songs drops today, and it has been streaming on youtube for a little while, so everybody who’s interested has heard it by now.

I don’t know much about Deerhoof. They’re a band whose buzz has preceded them around my house. I’ve always heard murmurings, but never really heard them. They’re one of the bands playing at this weekend’s 2012 Hopscotch Music Festival, and both in celebration of their new record and as a part of our continuing series on Hopscotch bands, we’ll look at Deerhoof today.

Deerhoof are an experimental noise-rock band from San Francisco. They’re constantly reinventing their sound, and by just about anyone’s estimation, many of their albums could be called concept albums. I don’t think even they know what they’re going to do next. No matter what, they’ve been together for nearly 20 years and have released 12 proper albums since 1997. They’re doing something right.

In 2004, they released an album called Milk Man, which was conceptualized as a ballet for children. I’ve never heard the record, but I’ve heard about it. And the fact that at least one schoolteacher has actually turned it into a ballet with her kids. You can learn a little bit about that in the interview below.

I found this about a year ago, and I’m completely obsessed with the three geezers who review modern indie music. It’s a hoot. Check out their other stuff when you have time.

Anyway, I’m short on time and long on things (including showing up for my real, paying job) to do, so I’ll get right down to business with a song for you. This one comes from their 2005 album The Runners Four.

“Wrong Time Capsule” by Deerhoof

Unfortunately, I have to present this without any commentary.

Although the headliners of the Hopscotch Music Festival are The Jesus & Mary Chain (Friday night) and The Roots (Saturday), Deerhoof has the longest set of anybody at the festival. They have a two hour (!) set on Thursday night. 10pm to midnight at Memorial Auditorium. I’ll try to make it for at least a little while, just to see their notoriously intense stage presence. There’s a LOT that I want to catch that night.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.