07.09.13 — “Last Movements” By Over Nights

Over Nights

If you only listen to one song tonight, make it “Last Movements” by Over Nights (2013, from the Broken EP.

Over Nights is an indie folk duo from Brooklyn. Drew Cooper (banjo) and Russel Efros (guitar) are longtime friends who have played music together since childhood. Just last year, they started working on their debut EP, which was released three weeks ago.

I know nothing else about this band. I got something in the mailbag a couple of weeks ago announcing the release of their first single and imminent EP. Just the other day, I got something else about the second single and the release of the EP. Since they were already in the “I will write about this in the near future” pile, I went ahead and pushed it to today.

I took the day off from writing yesterday, and I took almost the entire day off from doing anything at all today, but I’m not going to make a habit of taking days off from writing.
I’ve got a lot of stuff planned for the next couple of months. Mostly the standard “song du jour” stuff, and a lot of stuff about Hopscotch, but I’ve also got some other special posts planned. It should be a fun summer.

So without any further ado, here’s tonight’s song:
“Last Movements” by Over Nights

I love the simplicity of this. It’s mostly about the banjo, and I’m never going to complain about that. The guitar is subtle. The drums are subtle. The vocals are pretty great. I don’t know if the vocals are multi-tracked or if the guys are singing together. Whatever it is, it works. There’s something about the whole package that’s a little reminiscent of some mixture of Fleet Foxes and Bon Iver. Good.

You can download a copy of Broken at the cost of “name your own price” over at the Over Nights bandcamp page.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.