10.11.13 — “Revival” by Screen Vinyl Image

Screen Vinyl Image

If you only listen to one song today, make it “Revival” by Screen Vinyl Image (2011, from the album Strange Behavior)

Screen Vinyl Image is a shoegaze/darkwave/electronic duo from Arlington, Virginia. As they describe themselves, “Loud guitars and cold electronics”. They are the husband-and-wife team of Jake and Kim Reid, who used to be in a DC shoegaze band called Alcian Blue. In 2007, they formed SVI, and since then, they’ve put out a bunch of singles and three albums. Early this year, they self-released an album called 51:21 with a limited run of 100 cassette tapes. That was the only physical format. I’ve said before and I’ll say again that I do not apporove of this cassette fad, and especially this “cassette only” fad that’s started lately. I can’t wait for it to go away.

Until a couple of days ago, I had never heard of Screen Vinyl Image, but they were recommended to me by, of all things, Twitter. I looked into it, and I was glad that I did. Just from their twitter feed, I knew I would like them. After previewing a couple of songs, I bought downloads of the last two records, and I’ve been enjoying them both.

While the new record leans slightly towards synths and other electronics, Strange Behavior has a bit more to do with guitars and effects pedals. It’s the stuff on that album that make people want to compare them to early The Jesus and Mary Chain or A Place To Bury Strangers. In fact, they did a cover of the JAMC song “On The Wall”, which is totally worth checking out here.

Today’s song is a bit more like APTBS. This is that song:

“Revival” by Screen Vinyl Image

It’s super-dark and super-noisy. Strobe lights and red fog.

Play it loud as hell.

Buy Strange Behavior from the bandcamp page.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.