June 29, 2016 — “Cloud of Dreams” by New Zero God

New Zero God

If you only listen to one song tonight, make it “Cloud of Dreams” by New Zero God (2016, from the album Short Tales and Tall Shadows).

New Zero God is a post-punk band from Athens, Greece. They’ve been around since 2006, but I know really nothing about them. I got something in the mailbag about the new album, and I like what I’ve heard. What I can say is that it reminds me of some of the really fantastic dark post-punk stuff coming out of England in the late 70s and early 80s. Specifically, I’m reminded of Bauhaus and Joy Division.

While tonight’s song might not sound a whole lot like Joy Division, the lyrics look very much like Joy Division. The first verse:

When all this gets too tough to live
And I have nothing else to give,
There is a place where I can hide.
I turn off the lights and shut my eyes

I don’t know. Maybe I’ve got Joy Division on the brain because I rewatched “Control” last night, but it just totally sounds like Ian Curtis lyrics. And actually, the New Zero God singer Mike Pougounas does sound a bit like Ian. And seriously, if you haven’t watched Control, you should.

Anyway, this is that song:
“Cloud of Dreams” by New Zero God

As I said, I don’t know very little about this band. What I know is that they record with programmed drums, but they perform with live drums. Here, on the record, the programmed drums sound like they’re coming from one of the wonderful vintage drum machines such as the Roland 707. To be quite honest, I think the drums are too big in the mix, but I do love that vintage sound. I also really like the bass and the vocals. It’s all very dark and heavy. The guitar bits offer a little bit of counter-balance, giving us some brightness. Really, though, this song is about the darkness.

You can buy Short Tales and Tall Shadows via Bandcamp here.

About dlee

North Carolina born and bred. I'm a restaurant guy who spends free time listening to music, watching hockey and playing Scrabble. I have a bachelor's degree in political science and I will most likely never put it to use. View all posts by dlee

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.